Bill & Milly

I don’t know how long my parents dated, but I know that they got married when Mother was 18 and Daddy was 21.  Mother went to church regularly.  One Sunday evening, Daddy and his pals came to visit the church.  They slid into the pew behind her.  Mother’s pet peeve was people popping chewing gum, and Daddy had a big wad of it in his mouth.  She got all huffy about it and turned around to give him a dirty look, to which he replied, “Crane that pretty neck back around here darlin’ and let me see that smile.”  I don’t think he won her heart at that moment, but eventually she fell for his wit and charm.  They married on March 26, 1937.

They apparently got along fairly well, because I am the fifth of six children.  When number six was born,  the pastor of our church told her that God intended for us to populate the earth, but He didn’t leave it all to one person.

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogroll, humor, Love, Story

Tags: , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

7 Comments on “Bill & Milly”


  1. I seldom use the word charming when describing someone’s writing, but I have to use it hear. What a lovely, charming, warm story. So brief, but so full of romance.


  2. really nice one and keep it up!

    http://www.indiamatrimony.com for indian matrimonials

  3. feistysideoffifty Says:

    This is such a lovely tribute to your parents. They must have shared a deep connection and, from your story, I imagine your dad was quite the charmer. I love your humor so I’m guessing you came by your full dose of wit and charm from some very witty, charming genes!

  4. Archer Pam Says:

    You are so right! Both of my parents had tremdous senses of humor, so there was a lot of laughter in our home.

    Like all families, we had our share of hard times, sorrow, and trials, but we weathered them all and came through with a deeper appreciation for each other.

    I am aware of what a special and unique heritage I have, and feel it is my duty, as well as my privilege to share it with others. Thank you for your kind comment.


  5. My mum and dad were going out for 4 years before they married – mum was only 15 when they met. He was the scout master of her brothers and I think he went along square dancing with them and met mum there. I know that square dancing was a big thing in their lives – this was in the 1950s.

    Loved what your pastor said! I’m one of 4 children and now I have 5 of my own!


  6. I loved this reflection of your parents Pam, I had a laugh when I pictued your mum being so ‘proper’, and your father’s cheeky remark to her! lol They were destined to be together…how romantic.

  7. karlyn Says:

    Awww.. what a sweet story of your mom and dad.
    Karlyn


Leave a Reply

