The Liquidation of Our Town

Pam at Age 4(Click image to enlarge) Knoxville, Tennessee was having a liquor referendum.  The push was for liquor-by-the drink.  Knox County was a dry county and most people wanted to keep it that way.  It was a subject that sparked heated debate among politicians and the voting public.

  

Most Sundays we had company for lunch.  This particular day, my parents had invited an elderly couple to join us.  The adults discussed the liquor referendum over fried chicken and chocolate cake.  My parents were against the proposal, as were our guests.  Our guests were even more outspoken about it than my parents, which was really unusual.  The discussion made a lasting impression on me, an innocent little four-year old girl.  I can still remember parts of it.  On some level I must have known what they were talking about, but I never really made the connection to what was about to happen.

After everyone had finished eating, we all moved into the living room.  It was customary in our home for the Payne family children to provide entertainment for our guests.  By request I took center stage to sing a song for them.  I picked my favorite song to perform.  In my innocence and much to the embarrassment and chagrin of my parents, I belted out “Little Brown Jug.”  Flushed faces and nervous laughter followed my performance.  Leave it to our children to publicly humiliate us!

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogroll, humor, Story

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

9 Comments on “The Liquidation of Our Town”

  1. feistysideoffifty Says:

    I’m sure your rendition of the “Little Brown Jug” brought down the house! Even though your parents probably wished you’d made a “more sobering” selection, they must have been proud.
    And, you were a real cutie even back then!

  2. Archer Pam Says:

    This is very punny! Thank you for the comment.


  3. LOL! I would love to have been a fly on the wall. Those are the stories great memories are made of.


  4. hahahah Mate, you are by far, one story-teller and this was a classic which cracked me up, AGAIN! lol How hillarious, I can only imagine the faces in that room…Im with Karen, would love to have been a fly on the wall!


  5. Just had to add how much I loved this picture of you! Thanks for sharing!

    Love Debbie

    If you stop over at Freesiafever, there is a tinsy winsy one I found of myself and older sister at the beach…..will have to get some better ones!

  6. Karlyn Says:

    How adorable..🙂

  7. kacey Says:

    Great story. Funny how it’s stuck with you all these years.


  8. I love your stories. This is priceless and so you! LOL


  9. Pam, I love your blog so much and I’m supposed to tag six Diva sisters. So, because I’m so crazy about this blog — tag, you’re it!

    I’ve Been Tagged by a DIVA Too!

    My sister Diva, Debbie Stevens http://freesiafever.blogspot.com/ tagged me with a “meme.” I have no idea! Look it up. That’s why God created Google! I thought that was Chinese for little sister. Hey, it fits!
    I have to post six unimportant things about myself and then tag six other non-suspecting bloggers to participate. Sounds confusing, but fun.

    Here are the rules:

    1. Link back to the person who tagged you.
    2. Post the rules on your blog.
    3. Share six unimportant things about yourself.
    4. Tag six random people at the end of your blog entry.
    5. Let the tagged people know by leaving a comment on their blogs.

    Six Unimportant Things About Me:

    1) I love all vegetables except hominy. Love grits, just not hominy. Patooey!
    2) I like to feel the satin ribbons on the edge of blankets.
    3) I got kicked out of ballet and put into gymnastics to save my life (I’m clumsy)
    4) I can’t breathe when I hear bagpipes.
    5) I’m in the Bowling Hall of Fame for making the big four split.
    6) I love to tuck a sprig of rosemary behind my ear.

    I know you’ll have fun with this!


Leave a Reply

