Traveling with Kids

It’s vacation time.  Many of you are traveling with children.  That in itself can be exhausting.  By the time you reach your destination, you probably have acquired a few gray hairs, and by the time you return home you are in need of a vacation.  All the “She’s looking at me”, “Make him stop”, “I’ve got to pee”, and the “How much further?” are getting to you.  I remember what that was like.  Beth used to complain “Maria’s breathing again.  Mama, make her stop!”  They were getting on each other’s nerves. 

We had a trip to the beach coming up and I had to have a plan in order to arrive sane.  I came up with an ingenious plan.  To each of the three children I gave three coupons.  “If you act ugly to your sister, or do anything to get on anyone elses nerves, you will lose a coupon.”  I stated.  “For every coupon that you lose, you will also lose 15 minutes of beach time when we get there.  You will have to sit on the beach while everyone elses plays in the ocean.”  I felt assured that the trip would be a blissful success.

They all plugged in to their headsets.  For a while everything rocked along just as smoothly as it could be.  “Ah, a nice family vacation.  No stress, no fighting, the kids are little angels, what more could a mother ask for?”  I was so proud of my brilliance in executing THE plan.

Beth was the first one to lose a coupon.  It spiraled downhill pretty quickly from there.  At one point, Maria threw her coupons over the seat.  “Here Mama.  I’m going to slap Beth!”  she declared.  So much for calm and peaceful.  So much for little angels.  So much for Mama’s plan.

Yes, traveling with kids can be a challenge, even if you have the comfy van with the movies.  After all is said and done, you still come away with lots of new memories, and you have spent some time together.  That’s what it’s all about anyway.

My sage old advice to young moms and dads is take turns driving.  At least you won’t care if they are fighting or not.  Vacation is a time for renewal.  Renew your prescription for Valium and have a wonderful trip?

Explore posts in the same categories: humor, Memories, Story

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Traveling with Kids”

  1. Pop Art Diva Says:

    Oh, how this post reminded me of family vacations in the Midwest in summer in a 55 Chevy with no air conditioning!

    My older sister always wanted to stop to eat and pee, my brother was a royal pain with his bad jokes and poking and I always got car sick.

    Ah, memories . . . .

  2. Reflections Says:

    What a great site this is. I am a fan and simply love the way it looks. http://www.godzillachai.blogspot.com

  3. Reflections Says:

    I will put you on my blog as well. Thanks for the note and visit. It’s great to have people of common values when it comes to family.

    Cheers!

    http://www.godzillachai.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

