I Do, I Do, I Do

It’s no wonder I love weddings so much, and no accident that I should be a wedding and event designer.  I grew up with it.    We often had weddings in our home. 

Daddy was a minister.  He would preside over the ceremony, Mother made the wedding cake, and catered the food.  Donna and Jeaneane would play the piano and/or organ, and Suz and I would light the candles. We had candelabra, that Mother would decorate, and chairs to set up an aisle in our home. 

I loved to hear Mother’s beautiful, melodic, soprano voice as she sang songs like “O Promise Me”, and “The Lord’s Prayer”.  Her voice was so clear, she sounded like an angel.  One of my favorite memories of her is hearing her sing around the house.  She was always singing while she worked.  I learned a whole repertorie of songs from her housework concerts.  “Wedding Bells Are Breaking Up That Old Gang Of Mine”, was one she would sing.  Mostly, she sang hymns and songs about how much God loves us.

I don’t remember many funny things from those weddings.  I recall that they were all very sweet and intimate, and it didn’t matter that just a few people were in attenance.  That made it all the more special.  We have come to think that we must have a wedding that costs many thousands of dollars, but the truth is, by the end of the day the result is the same.  You are married!

Mother made melt in your mouth butter cream mints for the weddings.  She would make them by the hundreds, and put them in a tin, in the freezer.  They would mysteriously disappear.  After her passing, my children and their cousins all admitted to sneaking to the basement to get into Mamaw’s mints.  I’m sure she probably knew the culprits of the missing mints, but she never said a word about it, she just made more mints.

I miss those simple weddings, where they promised to have and to hold until death did them part.  More of those folks remained married than the kids getting married today.  Was it the simplicity of the times, or was it that they had been taught the meaning of commitment.  I wonder.

Explore posts in the same categories: Love, Memories, Story

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “I Do, I Do, I Do”


  1. Pam,

    Lovely memories. Times were much more simple in the past. It sounds like being married with your family at the helm would have been incredible!

    I stopped measuring my success as a minister officiating at weddings with the fact that people were still married. Divorce is so prevalent, and not an indicator of a good wedding anymore!

    You are the best,

    Sally


    Dr. Sally Witt – STOP SMOKING EASILY!! http://stopsmokingwithdrsally.com/
    http://www.squidoo.com/stopsmokingeasily
    http://www.drsallywitt.com


  2. Pam,

    I think some people today aren’t willing to do the necessary work that is required to stay married. Another thing: Back in the day, most women didn’t work. They took care of the home and the children and felt the commitment to keep the family together.

    I just love seeing couples who have been married 40 and 50 years and to see how happy they still are!

  3. Eileen Says:

    Does a simple wedding even exist anymore? Now it seems like all of them are such an extravaganza. A friend of mine who designs online greeting cards at Greeting Card Universe said that right now her best sellers are “Will you be my bridesmaid”? “Will you be my best man?” etc. Whatever happened to just asking in person?


  4. What lovely memories to hold. I remember my mum singing but not as much as your mum. And how special to have weddings in your home – that would have been lovely. That certainly would have moulded your future!


  5. Pam,

    You write so beautifully, I feel as though I was at some of those weddings too, and can taste your Mother’s mints.

    My Dad and I love to sing and would often break into song at our house. My sister recalls one of her friends being over when Dad and I did just that. She looked over at my sister in shock and whispered “They’re singing!”

    My sister looked back. “Yeah, so?” It didn’t occur to her until just then that not everyone had relatives that would break into song without notice.


Leave a Reply

