Sibling Pays It Forward

Sonny and Curtis played a lot of pranks on Donna, and got her into some pretty precarious situations.  But, don’t spend too much time feeling sorry for her, because she learned from their example to pay it forward.

I loved mother’s southern style, homemade yeast rolls better than anything!  The woman could make bread!  I watched her mix them many times.  After mixing them, she would cover them with a dishtowel and place them in a warm place to activate the yeast.  She allowed them at least five or six hours to rise double in bulk.  When they were ready to roll out, she would flour the dough board, her hands, and the biscuit cutter.  She would dip the roll in melted butter, fold it in half, place them on the pan, and let them rise again for an hour or so before she baked them.  Oh MAMA!  The aroma of that bread would drive me crazy until I could get my hands on one of them to eat.  Donna was aware of my weakness for rolls.  All the Payne’s have a weakness for those homemade yeast rolls! 

I had come inside the house from playing in the yard.  I was so hungry!  “Mother left some roll dough in the refrigerator, why don’t you make rolls?’ Donna said.  I should have picked up on her sarcasm right away, but the thunder from my rolling stomach drowned out the slur in her tone of voice.

I ran to the fridge and found the ball of dough, just as she had said.  I melted the butter, kneaded the dough, rolled it out, dipped it and waited for my rolls to rise.  I waited about an hour and went back to check on them.  They hadn’t risen at all.  I thought that maybe they would rise as they baked, so I popped them into the oven. 

Twelve minutes later, I went back to take my delicious rolls out of the oven.  I wondered why I didn’t smell the yeast like I did when Mother made them.  I shrugged my shoulders, sat down at the kitchen table, and buttered myself a roll.  Slowly, I crunched down on the roll.  Crunched was the appropriate choice of word.  I could hear Donna laughing in the other room.  I went after her!  “That’s pie crust, you ninny!”  I shrieked.  “That was mean!”, I added, as I slapped her on the arm.  She continued to laugh.  I was so mad at her!

I explained what happened to Mother.  She didn’t think it was funny, but she didn’t give me much sympathy either. 

The moral of this story is “Doughn’t trust your sister!”

Explore posts in the same categories: humor, Memories, Story

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “Sibling Pays It Forward”

  1. menopausemama Says:

    As an only child, I missed out on all the pranks that siblings put each other thru. At the time being an only child was “way cool” because I never had to share but now that I’m an adult, I miss the thought of not having brothers and sisters to reminisce and share with.

  2. Archer Pam Says:

    Yes, it was worth all the pranks to have my brothers and sisters as adults. Being an only child must have had its perks, too.


  3. You already know I’m a huge fan of your family stories and this one is no exception. I bet you and Donna have enjoyed many a good laugh over that one.
    But I do have one more question: Did you ever get pie for dinner that night?


  4. Pam, I grew up with 3 sisters, a brother and various step sisters and brothers. We were always pulling pranks on each other. I often dreamed of being an only child, but looking back on it now, … I still wish I were an only child.🙂 !!!

  5. Archer Pam Says:

    No, Eileen, no pie. The dough was left over from something else Mother made, so I didn’t get rolls or pie. What a disappointment! :00


  6. No pie, no rolls? that would be sad. So many stories from the kitchen. I think families miss out when they no longer cook for each other.

    I remember one sibling tying Grandma’s apron strings to the kitchen table.

    My little sis proudly made jello soup. (She didn’t measure the water, just poured it in.

    Or my son putting 1 cup of cinnamon in the bread machine when making bread insted of 1 t.

  7. Archer Pam Says:

    He he!

    My daughter made some muffins for school. She put in a cup of salt and a tsp. of sugar! I think we named them the Dead Sea Muffins! Couldn’t eat them or pick them up they were so heavy.

    You gave me an idea for another blog post, Heidi.

  8. Betty Lynch Says:

    Love your family stories!! My brother was 10 years older than me. He married at 17 yrs old, so I was raised like an only child.

  9. Joyce Mason Says:

    I was almost drooling at the start of this story, remembering my mom’s homemade potato bread and the incredible homemade beer batter bread I just had at an event yesterday. Yum!

    My brother was the one who could be mean at times. But like Betty’s situation, he was much older than me (by 16 years) and also married very young. He could still get to me as a teenager and young adult, even when I didn’t see him that often.

    On balance, I think we learn a lot about the world from our siblings, including a bit of toughening! I’m such a softie, I’m sure I needed it. If we’re too protected at home, life definitely has some rude awakenings. Siblings are a form of built-in boot camp. I wouldn’t have traded mine for the world.


  10. Oh, the joy of sweet sibbling rivalry.

  11. rosie999 Says:

    I don’t have any brothers and sisters and don’t miss the rivalry. But, do have some folks that I adopt as siblings. It’s kind of cool cause I can disown them whenever I want. Just kidding


Leave a Reply

