The Payne Family Christmas

We met on Friday night before Christmas at the newly renovated Tennessee Theater, in Knoxville.  The 1,649 seat theater is where we went as children to see movies.   It was thrilling to see that it had been refurbished to it’s original splendor.  It is as ornate as any New York City opera house, and just as beautiful, too.

The movie playing was “It’s a Wonderful Life”, starring Jimmy Stewart.  I dont’ think any of us had seen the movie in its entirety, so we all enjoyed it immensely. 

Before it began, the grand Wurlitzer organ was rolled up from the floor, and the organist began playing Christmas songs.  The audience joined in singing.  Tradionally, the last song of the mini-concert is “The Tennessee Waltz”.  The performer did not disappoint.  It was magnificent!

On Saturday, we sat down to a Payne family feast.  We felt so blessed to get to be together another year.  We cherish these times of laugher, food, and fellowship.

I just wanted to share with you some updated pictures from the event. 

Thank you for your loyal following of this blog.  It will soon be a book, with all of the blanks filled in.  I’ll keep you updated.

Happy New Year!

Please stop by my other blogs:

http://www.idoweddings.wordpress.com

http://www.archerfitpress.wordpress.com

Join me on Facebook, My Space, and Twitter.

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogroll

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

13 Comments on “The Payne Family Christmas”


  1. What a lovely way to spend time together.


  2. I could just sit here and listen to this song and view your pictures indefinitely. Beautifully done! I love hearing about your family. And I never knew your last name was Payne. I see you left oout the part about “Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner” Ha! Ha!


  3. Pam, you should link a few of these together and turn them into a film. They are so cool, and so descriptive!


  4. You’re such an engaging writer. I felt almost like I was a fly on the way with the Payne family. I’m looking forward to reading the book while I’m all curled up under the cover. I can’t wait! THANKS for sharing your holiday experience. This was very nice.

  5. Karlyn Says:

    That sounds so nice. Thank you for sharing. Btw, I just love that image in your header. It’s adorable.


  6. Pam, such gorgeous pictures in the slideshow to go with the words above. Didn’t know you were turning it into a book. Great idea and several talented divas to help. If I were to write a book, I now have great resources. Later.


  7. As always I love reading about you and your family. Usually your posts are about your family of origin so this one was a special look at your wonderful Christmas celebration with your family today–replete with photos. You all seem so happy and joyful just to be together and your home is beautiful. Many blessings to you in the New Year, my friend!

  8. Pop Art Diva Says:

    Pam – what a great way to see It’s A Wonderful Life – in an old style theater complete with organ – I’m jealous!

    Happiest of New Years to you!


  9. Great memories. We have a theater like that in Columbus, Ohio.

    Ah, nostalgia!

  10. Betty Lynch Says:

    Pam, Thank you for sharing your family with us. I see the true meaning of Christmas – family and treasured blessings.


  11. Pam, You’ve built some beautiful memories. Thank you for sharing and allowing us to be a part of your family.

    It looks like you’ll have a very special book.


  12. I can’t imagine a Christmas without seeing “A Wonderful Life”, and another favorite, “A Christmas Carol” with Alistaire Simm(sp?), the 1951 version.

    But seeing A Wonderful Life on the big screen, it must have been a wonderful time!

    Happy New Year, my friend!


Leave a Reply

