Love Lifted Me

CSL047

We had a bookcase in our bedroom that held not only books, but our games, crayons and coloring books, and an assortment of other toys.    The old, white bookcase was homemade, like most everything else we had.  I was six years old and Nene was eight.  Our ages are relevant to the story. 

As I was looking on the shelf for something to play with, I found a small sheet of white paper.  It was Nene’s “Prayer List”.  This list included people that Nene was praying for, for various reasons.  I saw my name on that list and became very upset.  I went running to her, “Why is MY name on your prayer list?” I demanded.  “Because you aren’t saved.”  was her troubling reply.  “I am too saved!  I go to church just like you do, and I love Jesus.”  I was inconsolable.

Tears blinding my eyes, I ran through the swinging screen door to the back yard, banging the rickety door behind me.  Mother was sitting in the metal lawn chair resting.  “Mother!  Nene said I’m not saved.”  I went running to her and desperately poured out my heart.  My tears fell on Mother’s apron and mixed among the tell-tale stains of suppertime.  She gently pulled me onto her lap and into her arms.

“Well, honey, you aren’t saved.”  was her answer to my agony.  “But, I love Jesus, and I go to church every Sunday!”  I exclaimed.  “I know you do, but going to church doesn’t make us a Christian.”  she smoothed my hair with her hand.  “What do you mean?”  I wanted to know more.

In the Bible, John 3:16 tells us that “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in Him might be saved.”  she continued.  Romans 3:23 tells us “that all have sinned and come short of the glory of God.”  “We must each one make the choice to believe that Jesus died on the cross for our sins and ask him to forgive us of our sins.”  I was beginning to understand.  “If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord, and believe in your heart that God raised Him from the dead, you will be saved.  For it is by believing in your heart that you are made right with God, and it is by confessing with your mouth that you are saved.” (Romans 10: 9-10) she concluded.

Childlike faith erupted from my six year old soul.  “I want to be saved!”  I was firm in my decision.  Mother said that I needed to tell that to Jesus, so I bowed my head and prayed to receive Christ into my heart.  It so happened that we were having a revival meeting that week at our church.  I couldn’t wait for the invitation to come forward.  I practically ran down to the front to tell the pastor that I had accepted Christ.  Mother later told me that she was concerned that I knew what I was doing, due to my young age.  “When we started to sing the hymn, Whosoever Will May Come, I felt like God was telling me it was okay.”  Mother affirmed me.

I don’t know why I feel compelled to share this with you at this particular time, but I felt it a most important piece of the puzzle that I call my life.

I learned from this experience:

1. That my sister loved me enough to pray for me.

2. That Christ loved me enough to die for me.

3. That He loves you and wants you for himself, too.

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogroll

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Love Lifted Me”


  1. Pam,

    I don’t know if you’ve heard this song, “Somebody Prayed for Me” but I’m including the link because my mother always used to tell me she was praying for me when I was in college and every time I hear that song I always think of her: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lSuwovfpiF8&feature=related

    Thanks for sharing your story and giving me a reminder.


  2. Pam,
    This is such a lovely story and gives us insight into why you are the way you are. Even as a young child, your faith was strong and, I’m sure, that compassion and caring for others has always been a part of your being.
    From the many memories you’ve shared through this blog, your readers can feel the warmth and love of your amazing family. And, your upbringing shows in all you do.


  3. Pam,

    I can never get over how similar our childhoods are, and love the beautiful the way you have written this. What a wonderful testimony to the goodness of God. I was also very young, and prayed with my mother in the evening after I had been with her when she was teaching Vacation Bible School at the church we were attending.


  4. Pam, this is a very touching story and reminds me of the time I had my “coming to the Lord” moment. I’d already been baptized at the age of 13, but I was about 15 or so when I was in choir practice and we were singing and all of a sudden I was hit with this amazing bright light and my heart swelled and I started crying, singing through my tears. It was then I truly opened my heart and Jesus walked in and has stayed there since. I cry now, just thinking about it, it was such an emotional moment in my life.

    I can see how much your moment has affected who you are and who you’ve become. Thank you for sharing that insight.

  5. Betty Lynch Says:

    Pam, Again we are so much alike. I received Christ as my savior about the age of 6. I watched my father accept Christ and I cried and cried because I thought I was not going to heaven with my daddy. My mother and daddy talked with me and I too accepted Jesus as my Savior. Praise the Lord for Christian parents.


  6. I was raised Catholic but wasn’t saved until well into adulthood. I have known those who tell me they made the choice at a young age and have always questioned whether they understood what that truly meant. Thank you for sharing your story and showing me that one is capable of committing their life to Christ – even at the age of 6.

  7. Rebecca Byers Says:

    What a beautiful testimony. We certainly all need to be reminded of the power of child-like faith.


  8. I was 14 when I was saved. I was in high school and a visiting Gospel choir came to sing for us. It was during one of their songs that I had a revelation that Jesus is real and that He loves me. I accepted Him then and there. I didn’t attend a church that taught about being saved, although they did teach about Jesus. I know now that God had His hand on my life and no matter where we are and what we’re doing He will reach out to us. For me it was through a song.


Leave a Reply

