My Cup Didn’t Overflow

Pam & Donna

Pam & Donna

Per your request, I will tell you one more dating story, and then I’m moving on to other subjects.

The attic of our house on the farm had a window at each end.  These windows served as lookouts for the comings and goings in and out of our long driveway.  I wasn’t old enough to date yet, but Donna was.  I was a brat!  Running up to the attic to watch for her date to arrive was great fun.  I would holler down the steps to her, “Donna, your prince charming is coming!”, or “Your pimply faced boyfriend is on his way up here to give you a big kiss, with his bad breath.”   Mother would be stifling her laughter as she reprimanded me, which only spurred me on. 

Any of us were allowed to answer the door, except the one who was going on the date.  After playing the Town Crier one night, I nearly tripped as I ran downstairs to get to the door before anyone else could.  Swinging open the door, I looked at the guy, turned around and yelled “DOONNNAAA…your RIDE’S here.”  If looks could kill, I would have been six feet under many times in my life.

Donna was miffed at me.  Brother (Curtis) and Judy weren’t amused either when I ran around them in circles singing, “Brother and Judy sitting in a tree. k-i-s-s-i-n-g.  First comes love, then comes marriage, then comes Judy with a ba-by carriage.”    That little chant turned out to be a prophetic statement, because they were married soon after.  It still annoyed the heck out of them.

Advance about seven years.  I’m sixteen years old, and a lot more mature.  At least I thought I was.  I was fairly shy around boys, and very modest.  I had lived long enough to learn that a sixteen year old is easily embarrassed.  I was sitting on the couch with my boyfriend, having a nice conversation.  Suzanne, who is 4 1/2 years younger than I, pranced into the living room, carrying one of my bras.  “Ha.ha!  Look what size bra Pam wears. See how little it is?”  “Suzanne!  Get out of here!”  I screamed, as I rose to my feat and assumed a threatening stance.  It fell on deaf ears.  I glanced at my boyfriend and he was grinning, but not laughing.  How humiliating!  She continued her jeering.  “She can’t even fill this one up.”  she laughed, as she waved the bra in front of his face, like a hypnotic pendulum.  “Mother!  Would you get Suzanne out of here, please?”  Mother must have been outside.  The comments and giggles continued, until she finally wore thin, and I was silently vowing to gag her with that bra.

I learned from this experience that:

1. What goes around comes around.

2. That size does matter.

3. That your parents won’t always be around to bail you out.

Explore posts in the same categories: humor, Memories, Story

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “My Cup Didn’t Overflow”


  1. Oh, Pam–I LOVE this tell-all tale of karma coming ’round to bite you!
    It reminds me of a similar experience I had in college. I lived in a boarding house with several girls. Just behind us was fraternity row and there was a gate in the fence that was breached by unwanted guests many times.
    I’d just done my wash and hung my unmentionables out to dry. (Dumb idea!) Soon there was a knock at the door and several guys were there to report that a certain article marked with AA had blown off the line. They wanted to know the owner.
    Of course, I was MORTIFIED!
    Now, I’ve graduated far along the alphabet. It’s amazing that, once you turn fifty, and no one cares, you start to fill out big time! AMAZING!!! 🙂


  2. Since I grew up an only child, I don’t have any of these kind of memories to reminisce or share but I am living vicariously through your old sibling stories. By the way, one other lesson you should’ve learned from that experience is: Big Girls Don’t Cry🙂

  3. rosie Says:

    Pam, you are such a gifted storyteller. Keep it up. Now I want a story a week! Then I want the book. Ok, you write the book I will buy it and help promote it!

  4. deardottie Says:

    The story matched the nice picture shared. Again, you’ve succeeded in capturing my undivided attention with your story, oh the joy of being young & dating…thanks for the laugh🙂


  5. And people think size only matters to men. LOL! Great story.


  6. As the oldest of the Harendza girls, I can relate all too well to your poor sisters. I’m not sure they had the same experience as you in the end. I’m enough older than them that I had already left home before they started dating. But your story makes me hope that there was some payback – even if I didn’t get to witness it!


Leave a Reply

